Inspiration: Czeslaw Milosz

A Frivolous Conversation

-My past is a stupid butterfly’s overseas voyage.
My future is a garden where a cook cuts the throat of a rooster.
What do I have, with all my pain and rebellion?

-Take a moment, just one, and when its fine shell,
Two joined palms, slowly opens
What do you see?

-A pearl, a second.

-Inside a second, a pearl, in that star saved from time,
What do you see when the wind of mutability ceases?

-The earth, the sky, and the sea, richly cargoed ships,
Spring mornings full of dew and faraway princedoms.
At marvels displayed in tranquil glory
I look and do not desire for I am content.

Published in King Popiel and Other Poems 1962.

2 thoughts on “Inspiration: Czeslaw Milosz

Leave a Reply

