New poem: Beauty, published in Reverie

BEAUTY

He told me I was beautiful
but blunt fingers rearranged my shapes
and the difference in our masses
collapsed my vertebrae
into their impressions.
I thought,
“I am no longer
beautiful.”

But the next one told me
I was beautiful
and the next
and the next
and I thought beauty was vulnerability
scars laid down like onions reassembling.

“You are beautiful”, he says
and it’s almost not a crime
as I unravel
with the tearing of my clothes
and there is nothing left
for him to do.

Poem by Annie Jadin, speakingvoiceless.wordpress.com.

This poem has just been published in the first issue of Reverie magazine released today! Check it out! The entire magazine will be available free for Amazon Kindle Oct. 10-14, and costs $0.99 today and after 10/14. Print versions are available on Amazon for $6.99.

4 thoughts on “New poem: Beauty, published in Reverie

  1. Wow. This was quietly powerful. So many new ideas here – beauty is vulnerability, the tearing of the clothes and his (non)response. I’m glad this got published, it needs to be read widely. Also, I don’t know what you look like, but in between your words I see you, and I know you are beautiful. You can believe me, as I have no ulterior motive other than to say thank you. -Mosk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

