Monday

I’ve seen
him
once a week since
the start of term
but today he
forgot everyone’s names.
When he gets to me,
his jaw makes septuagenarian
clicks,
apparently something not
right with the alignment.
He looks at me and pauses.

“I should know your
name because you’re a
woman.”

A smile
click
I fake-laughed and
corrected his spelling
(yes, there is an “e” at
the end)
I couldn’t decide if I’d heard
“I should” or “I shouldn’t
know your name because you’re a
woman,”
but either way
it’s just as bad.

I’ve seen him every week
and he’s never
seen
me.

Poem by Annie Jadin, speakingvoiceless.com.

3 thoughts on “Monday

Leave a Reply

