Prompts: taking root

Inspired by a prompt posted on Listen for the Reverb.

 

taking root
the drops sizzle on my skin
i think
that i’m supposed to want this
water
an absolution
nurturement
water washes away all sins
it’s said
the best is consecrated
but i just picture a tin watering can
spout many-pierced with holes
the better to deliver
water
it’s supposed to be life-giving
but the drops they
sizzle on my skin

her voice
too
sizzles on my skin
she calls
and tries to love me
and i love her
i do
but my mistakes take root inside me
and her voice falls
spattering
on my skin
in little drops
and this ground
too stony
too dusty dry
to let them in

Poem by Annie Jadin, speakingvoiceless.wordpress.com.

2 thoughts on “Prompts: taking root

Leave a Reply

